Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch with Touch Bar Review

$1,659.00 $1,799.00

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: Apple MacBook Pro MLH12LL/A 13.3-inch Laptop with Touch Bar (2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i5, 256GB Retina Display), Space Gray - $1,659.00
Price history
×
Price history for Apple MacBook Pro MLH12LL/A 13.3-inch Laptop with Touch Bar (2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i5, 256GB Retina Display), Space Gray
Latest updates:
  • $1,659.00 - November 18, 2018
  • $1,694.00 - November 14, 2018
  • $1,599.00 - November 11, 2018
  • $1,694.00 - October 26, 2018
  • $1,599.00 - October 24, 2018
  • $1,694.00 - October 21, 2018
  • $1,599.00 - October 19, 2018
  • $1,694.00 - October 15, 2018
Since: May 28, 2018
  • Highest Price: $1,700.00 - May 28, 2018
  • Lowest Price: $1,490.00 - September 1, 2018
Last Amazon price update was: November 18, 2018 3:34 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

 


Overview

MacBook Pro

The 2016 MacBook Pro lineup represents Apple’s greatest laptop shake-up in years, taking what was already a premium brand and also pushing it up a notch.

The end outcome is probably the most effective laptop you’ll be able to buy today, however also one of the most costly. As I placed in my review of the cheaper, base model MacBook Pro, the high price meant that its compromises in efficiency and connectivity proved disappointing. The model on review makes neither – for a price, of course. However here that price is worth it.

Design

MacBook Pro

The 13-inch MacBook Pro is the nice-looking laptop available on the market right now. The aluminum chassis is machined from a single piece of metal, and it shows. It doesn’t bend or flex. However, it’s still extremely light at simply 1.37kg.

For the first time, the MacBook Pro is available in a selection of colors: a darker Space Grey or classic aluminum; there’s no Rose Gold choice yet. However, the other two options look very good.

At simply 15mm tall, it’s super-thin and happily slid into my already-crowded work bag without a problem. The footprint is smaller than earlier 13-inch MacBook Pros. However, the screen measurement remains identical. The difference isn’t big. However, it still helps the 13-inch Pro to feel far more portable than any of its predecessors.

back to menu ↑

Touch Bar

MacBook Pro

It’s like a touchscreen, however also not. Apple’s Touch Bar is a progressive multi-touch display that replaces the traditional function row, with a resolution of 2170 pixels throughout by only 60 pixels high. Apple deserves credit for benefiting from this limited real estate, however, right now it feels more evolutionary than revolutionary. By default, the Touch Bar reveals traditional buttons that you’re used to, together with screen brightness, quantity controls, and keyboard backlight controls, as well as shortcuts to Mission Control. There’s also a colorful Siri button on the right. It will get a lot more interesting when you begin diving into various apps.

Display

MacBook Pro

The 13-inch Retina Display on the MacBook Pro is practically good. It’s bright, wealthy and sharp, making it a nice canvas for watching movies, editing images and simply doing work. I could make out each crease in the leather chair Bruce Wayne sat in on the 2560 x 1600-pixel panel as he tried to persuade Flash to join the Justice League. And I noticed an explosion of color when I streamed a 4K clip of flowers, together with bright yellow tulips, yellow and orange poppies and purple campanula.

Performance

MacBook Pro

Apple contains a faster 6th-generation Core i5 processor on this laptop than the entry-level model, bumping up the clock speed from 2 GHz to 2.9GHz. You get the identical 8GB of RAM and 256GB of flash storage. The result’s a laptop that’s swift however not as highly effective as some premium Windows ultraportables with Intel’s newer chips.

back to menu ↑

Conclusion

MacBook Pro

Overall, the Touch Bar on the 13-inch MacBook Pro is Apple’s middle finger to full-touch-screen, 2-in-1 laptops just like the Surface Book, the Yoga 910 and the HP Spectre x360. I found it more helpful than I expected when performing everyday tasks and it truly helped to surface undiscovered features in certain apps however I don’t buy the argument that it’s better than a full touch screen. For my cash, the entry-level 13-inch MacBook Pro at $1,499 is the better value, however when you like the concept of having the dynamic and contextually relevant buttons which have the potential to speed up your workflow, the $1,799 Touch Bar MacBook Pro is worth the funding.

back to menu ↑

Buy Related Product

Apple MacBook Pro MLH12LL/A 13.3-inch Laptop with Touch Bar (2.9GHz dual-core Intel Core i5, 256GB Retina Display), Space Gray

$1,659.00 $1,799.00

Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch with Touch Bar Review

We hope you love the article ‘Apple MacBook Pro 13-inch with Touch Bar Review.’ Stay tuned for more updates.


READ NEXT ⇒ Xiaomi Yi Review: A 2.7 Inch Car DVR Recorder

Compsmag