Asus ROG G701VI Review

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: ASUS ROG G701VI OC Edition, 17.3" 120Hz G-SYNC VR Ready Gaming Laptop, NVIDIA GTX 1080 8GB, 7th-Gen Intel Core i7-7820HK, 64GB DDR4, 2 x512GB PCIe SSD, Aluminum, Backlit Keyboard - $0.00
Price history
×
Price history for ASUS ROG G701VI OC Edition, 17.3" 120Hz G-SYNC VR Ready Gaming Laptop, NVIDIA GTX 1080 8GB, 7th-Gen Intel Core i7-7820HK, 64GB DDR4, 2 x512GB PCIe SSD, Aluminum, Backlit Keyboard
Latest updates:
  • $3,499.00 - 08/16/2017
  • $3,247.00 - 08/07/2017
  • $3,249.00 - 07/23/2017
  • $3,299.00 - 07/14/2017
  • $3,448.00 - 07/06/2017
  • $3,447.97 - 07/05/2017
  • $3,448.00 - 06/27/2017
  • $3,449.99 - 06/26/2017
Since: 04/20/2017
  • Highest Price: $3,499.00 - 05/01/2017
  • Lowest Price: $3,247.00 - 08/07/2017
Last Amazon price update was: 10/11/2017 12:43 am (Info)
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on [relevant Amazon Site(s), as applicable] at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
0

Asus ROG G701VI ReviewThe Asus ROG G701VI (beginning at $2,999, $3,499 as examined) is yet another gaming laptop launched by the company under its Republic of Gamers i.e. Asus ROG series. For starters, the laptop comes with an overclockable Seventh-gen Intel’s Kaby Lake processor and the Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 GPU, which is the most powerful laptop GPU available on the market. Next, you have PCIe m.2 SSDs for some of the fastest transfer speeds I’ve seen from a gaming laptop. Then there is a display with 178-degree viewing angles and Nvidia’s G-Sync technology. The result is a notebook that can deliver consistently high frame rates, run VR and multitask like a beast. If you’re willing to celebrate, it’s a gaming system that should be at the top of your list.

Asus ROG G701VI Review – Specifications

ASUS ROG G701VI OC Edition, 17.3" 120Hz G-SYNC VR Ready Gaming Laptop, NVIDIA GTX 1080 8GB, 7th-Gen Intel Core i7-7820HK,...

2 used from $2,842.88
Last update was in: 10/11/2017 12:43 am

Asus ROG G701VI 17.3" FHD IPS G-SYNC 120Hz i7-7820HK GTX 1080 8G (1024G RAID SSD/64G RAM)

Last update was in: 10/11/2017 12:43 am

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG G701VI Review – Design

I don’t believe that orange and gray can go together. However, all that logic goes out the window when I look at the ROG G701VI. The brushed gray aluminum lid brings out the intrinsic beauty of the orange backlit accent around the gleaming Republic of Gamers logo. The copper-colored chrome on the top of the hinge diverts you from the sheer bulkiness of the laptop.

asus rog g701vi review Asus ROG G701VI Review 714b00cd42dc9395c3d8cd0246f8b414

Asus went with a more gaming-traditional black, gray, and red color design. There’s a thin strip of copper on the top separating the deck from the power button. That small section is printed with a circuit-like pattern that I wished would have been joined by more of the design. The rest of the keyboard’s deck is encased in a rich, black soft-touch finish enclosed by gunmetal-gray aluminum. On the top left of the deck, you’ll find buttons for the webcam and five macro keys.

The G701VS has some decent number of ports, including the Thunderbolt port and USB Type-C port on the right side of the laptop. There’s also an HDMI 2.0, USB 3.0 port, a Gigabit Ethernet, and a Mini DisplayPort. On the left side, there is a pair of USB 3.0 ports, jacks for a mic and headphone, an SD card reader, and a Kensington lock. You’ll find a large, proprietary port on the back for the ROG G701VI’s massive power cord.

Measuring 16.9 x 12.2 x 1.3-inches and weighing in at 7.9 pounds, the G701V1 is on a par with Razer’s Blade Pro (weighing 7.8 pounds, measuring 16.7 x 11 x 0.88 inches), and the Aorus’s X7 v6 (weighing 7.2 pounds, measuring 16.1 x 12.2 x 1 inches). It’s far lighter than the Origin’s PC Eon17-SLX and the MSI’s GT83VR Titan SLI, which both weighs in at 10.5 and 13.1 pounds, respectively.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG G701VI Review – Keyboard and Touchpad

Asus ROG G701VI Review asus rog g701vi review Asus ROG G701VI Review 431b0dec563a43a41b4de47f64b7bcc5

The ROG G701VI’s island-style keyboard isn’t the best keyboard I’ve used. The keys delivered an excellent, springy feedback despite its 1.3 mm (1.5 to 2 mm is ideal) of the key journey with 57 grams (60 g is good) actuation force required to press keys. The keyboard’s red backlighting is vibrant enough to see in low light environments. However, I’m disappointed that Asus hasn’t included the RGB lights that you find on less expensive Asus ROG Strix GL553VD. It seems like a bit awkward to ask people to pay over $3,000 and don’t even let them change their keyboard’s color.

There’s sufficient room on the 4.6 x 2.6-inch touchpad of the ROG G701VI’s for your fingers to travel across its smooth surface. I had no problem in performing multitouch gestures such as two-finger scroll, pinch to zoom, and three-finger swipe. Rather than using the bottom corners of the pad, the notebook has a pair of discrete buttons that gets the job done quite easily.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG G701VI Review – Display

It’d be difficult for you to find a bad seat in the house while looking at the ROG G701VI’s screen, thanks to its incredible 178-degree viewing angle. This means I could sit to the far right of the 17.3-inch, Full-HD 1080p display and can watch the 1080p trailer of Girls Trip without any color mashup. At 227 nits, the ROG G701VI’s screen is brighter than the Aorus X7 (252 nits), but not the 296-nit average, the MSI Titan, the Razer Blade Pro or the Origin Eon17.

Asus ROG G701VI Review asus rog g701vi review Asus ROG G701VI Review 1be3b8417670a4adaca34f643b39ec3d

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt looks superb on the ROG G701VI’s display. The detail was sharp enough that I could see the stitching in the scabbards strung over Geralt’s back. As I rode into Wither 3, my mount’s jet-black tail bobbed from side to side, in sync with Geralt’s bone-white locks. I saw a sea and stopped long enough to appreciate the bright blue liquid and the fog floating above as the sky gradually transformed from a dark pink to a crystal blue.

The ROG G701VI’s panel can reproduce 113 % of the sRGB gamut, which is great and on a par with the Aorus X7 and MSI Titan, both of which hit 114 %. However, none of these could match the 122 % desktop-replacement average or the Origin Eon17 and Razer Blade Pro’s ridiculous scores of 178 % and 185 % each. With a rating of 1.6 (0 is best) on the Delta-E test, the ROG G701VI has the more accurate screens among competitors. It’s far better than the 3.5, 2.3, and 2 ratings scored by the X7 v6, Razer Blade Pro, and MSI Titan.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG G701VI Review – Graphics and Gaming

The ROG G701VI is an absolute beast regarding gaming performance. I’ve yet to come across a game that the laptop’s Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 GPU with its 8GB VRAM didn’t tear through, leaving smooth graphics and high frame rates throughout the gameplay. Just like other Pascal GPUs, GTX 1080 is also VR-ready, and thus you can hook up your HTC Vive or Oculus Rift to unleash digital mayhem.

Once we ran the SteamVR Performance Test, the laptop maxed out the rating of 11, matching the Razer Blade Pro (GTX 1080s), the MSI Titan and Origin Eon17 (dual GTX 1080 GPUs). It easily sailed past the 9.1 category average and the Aorus X7 v6 with its Nvidia’s GeForce GTX 1070 GPU.

Asus ROG G701VI Review asus rog g701vi review Asus ROG G701VI Review 728ee97f30857466ebfc49de26a46255

While exploring through an abandoned village in The Witcher 3, I fought a group of bandits. Unsheathing my steel sword, I immediately went to work, carving down the crowd, starting with a bang of my fire spell for a measure of crowd control. I hurried down the archer, dispatching him with quick strikes, and from there, battled an ax-welding until I got the upper hand, chopping off his arm. Geralt’s Nvidia HairWorks-treated locks realistically around his face, at a stutter-free 70 fps at 1920 x 1080 setting.

During the Tomb Raider benchmark (on Very High 1920 x 1080 settings), the ROG G701VI achieved a frame rate of 71 fps, surpassing the 53-fps category average as well as the Razer Blade Pro (65 fps), MSI Titan (58 fps) and Aorus X7 (56 fps). The Origin Eon17 was just a bit better at 81 fps.

On the GTA V test, the ROG G701VI hit 90 fps, besting the 83-fps category average. It was enough to top the Razer Blade Pro and Aorus X7, which notched 65 and 74 fps, respectively. But the Origin Eon17 and MSI Titan averaged a very high 121 and 139 fps, respectively.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG G701VI Review – Audio and G-Sync

It won’t replace a Bluetooth speaker, but the ROG G701VI’s speakers can fill a medium-size room with its speakers, provided it’s a quiet space. I had a good old time listening to Jamiroquai’s “Time Won’t Wait, which had nice bass and warm, clear lows and highs.

However, just like most Asus gaming laptops, the speakers are too quiet for my taste. While I played Witcher 3, I felt like I had to try to hear some of the finer details, like my fire spell waving from my hands. Though the sound was clear enough to listen to the metal clanking against metal, it would have been delightful to get just a little more volume.

In addition to having some wonderful wide viewing angles, the ROG G701VI’s panel also features Nvidia G-Sync technology, which syncs up the notebook’s display rate with the graphics card. Or in other words, the system is placing a frame cap that meets the panel limit, which allows for immediate rendering in both full-screen and window modes, thereby eliminating any tears, and leaving still images and happy gaming experience. And before you start worrying, the ROG G701VI is one of the few gaming laptops with a 120-Hz G-Sync panel, so you won’t have to forfeit high frame rates for smooth graphics performance.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG G701VI Review – Hardware and Performance

Powered by an overclockable Seventh-generation 2.9-GHz Intel’s Core i7-7820HK processor with a ridiculous 64GB RAM, the ROG G701VI is a brute when it comes to multitasking and performance. I confidently watched a TouTube stream while running a full system scan in Windows Defender with more than 20 Google Chrome tabs open in the background. I noticed just a bit of lag when I launched Tomb Raider alongside.

Asus ROG G701VI Review asus rog g701vi review Asus ROG G701VI Review c5036c3fe8d92aee54d39557a80cd5ba

The Asus ROG G701VI achieved 17,404 on the Geekbench 4 performance test, easily beating the 13,444 category average. It also surpassed the Razer Blade Pro’s (with 2.6-GHz Intel’s Core i7-6700HQ) score of 11,702, as well as the MSI Titan’s (with 3.1-GHz Intel’s Core i7-7920) and the Aorus X7’s (with 2.7-GHz Intel’s Core i7-6820). Overclocked or not, the ROG G701VI was no match for the Origin Eon17’s with its 4.5-GHz Intel’s Core i7-6700K CPU, which scored 18,317.

The ROG G701VI and its dual 512GB PCIe m.2 SSD storage in RAID 0 configuration are the fastest setups that I’ve had the pleasure of playing with. The laptop duplicated 4.97GB of multimedia files in an unimaginable 4 seconds. That’s a transfer rate of 1,272.4 MBps, easily thrashing the 512-MBps category average. The MSI Titan’s pair of 512GB PCIe SSDs was in second place with 1,018 MBps, while the Aorus X7 with its 512GB NVMe M.2 PCIe SSD and Origin Eon17 with its dual 256GB NVMe M.2 PCIe SSDs scored 463 MBps and 424.1MBps speeds respectively. The Razer Blade Pro with its dual 256GB PCIe SSDs finished last with just 391.5 MBps.

Finally, the OpenOffice Spreadsheet Macro test, the ROG G701VI paired 20,000 names and addresses in just 2 minutes and 59 seconds, besting the 3:33 category average. The Aorus X7, MSI Titan, and Origin Eon17 were in a dead heat at 3:09, while the Razer Blade Pro completed the task in 4:06.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG G701VI Review – Heat and Battery Life

I ran a mission in the Witcher 3: Wild Hunt for 15 minutes, the touchpad measured 90 degrees Fahrenheit, while the middle of the system went to a hot 104 degrees, which is well above our 95-degree consolation threshold. The laptops bottom was noticeably warmer at 113 degrees, but due to its size, I don’t think that many people will prefer using the ROG G701VI in their laps.

Asus ROG G701VI Review asus rog g701vi review Asus ROG G701VI Review 9e6a961a3ceb0a79f81875d3da78aa43

Once the laptop calmed down, we streamed a Full-HD YouTube video for 15 minutes and remeasured everything. The touchpad was a cool 88 degrees, with the area between the G and H keys reached 92 degrees. The system’s underside measured 89 degrees.

On our battery test (that includes regular internet browsing over Wi-Fi), the ROG G701VI lasted 3 hours and 27 minutes, which is an hour short of the 4:27 category average. But that’s still longer than Razer Blade Pro, Aorus X7, MSI Titan, and Origin Eon17, as all of them lasted under 3 hours.

back to menu ↑

Configuration Options

I got a chance to take the $3,499 ROG G701VI out for our review. It’s got a lot under the hood, including a 2.9-GHz Intel’s Core i7-7820HK processor, 64GB RAM, dual 512GB PCIe m.2 SSDs in RAID 0 configuration and a Nvidia’s GeForce GTX 1080 GPU with 8GB VRAM. The $2,999 base model has the same CPU and GPU, but cut down the RAM down to 32 GB and only has one 512GB PCIe m.2 SSD storage.

back to menu ↑ back to menu ↑

Conclusion

The $3,499 ROG G701VI is one of the laptops that has to be seen to believed. The laptop’s gray-and-orange body design sets it apart from the other laptops that are clad in red and black. But beyond the aesthetics, this system is kick ass regarding performance, packing an overclockable 7th-generation Intel’s Kaby Lake processor, Nvidia GTX 1080 GPU under its strong chassis. It that’s not enough, its pair of PCIe SSDs are some of the fastest I’ve ever encountered, and you get a beautiful display with Nvidia G-Sync Technology and 178-degree wide viewing angles. However, for the price, I would expect the laptop to have a configurable RGB keyboard like its less expensive cousins. And it would be nice if Asus could deliver louder, richer audio.

Though, the Asus ROG G701VI is still one of the best laptops for gamers who are looking for serious power for gaming, VR, and productivity.

back to menu ↑

Review Score

9 Total Score
What Compsmag Says

The Asus ROG G701VI packs excellent performance and a display with 178-degree viewing angles into a show-stopping chassis.

Design
9.5
Keyboard and TouchPad
8.5
Display
9.5
Graphics and Gaming
9.5
Audio
8
Heat
8.5
Hardware and Performance
9.5
Battery Life
7
PROS
  • Attractive design
  • Vivid display with 178-degree viewing angles
  • Nvidia G-Sync technology
  • Excellent graphics, gaming, and overall performance
  • Very Fast SSD
CONS
  • Expensive
  • Average speakers
  • Lacks RGB backlit keyboard
Add your review

-Popular Related Post by Google-


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Add a Comment