Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review

$1,150.00

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon
Buy for best price
Set Lowest Price Alert
×
Notify me, when price drops
Set Alert for Product: ASUS ROG Strix GL753 17.3" Gaming Laptop GTX 1050 4GB Intel Core i7-7700HQ 16GB DDR4 1TB 7200RPM HDD RGB Keyboard - $1,150.00
Price history
×
Price history for ASUS ROG Strix GL753 17.3" Gaming Laptop GTX 1050 4GB Intel Core i7-7700HQ 16GB DDR4 1TB 7200RPM HDD RGB Keyboard
Latest updates:
  • $1,150.00 - 10/19/2017
  • $1,099.00 - 10/05/2017
  • $1,099.99 - 09/27/2017
  • $1,098.99 - 09/19/2017
  • $1,099.00 - 08/01/2017
  • $1,129.00 - 07/28/2017
  • $1,099.00 - 06/27/2017
  • $1,049.00 - 05/19/2017
Since: 04/24/2017
  • Highest Price: $1,150.00 - 10/19/2017
  • Lowest Price: $1,036.00 - 04/26/2017
Last Amazon price update was: 10/19/2017 8:29 am (Info)
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on [relevant Amazon Site(s), as applicable] at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
0

Asus ROG Strix GL753 ReviewFor those who’re looking for a gaming PC but don’t have the money to drop on something that’s VR-ready, you’ll be able to discover a laptop that can play most video games. The Asus ROG Strix GL753 (starting at $1,099, and $1,299 as examined) is among the first notebooks available on the market with Nvidia’s GTX 1050 Ti GPU, together with the Asus‘s first RGB-backlit keyboard to add a little bit of color. It’s a powerful laptop, but other systems are on the way with comparable specs for under $1,000.

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Specifications

ASUS ROG Strix GL753 17.3" Gaming Laptop GTX 1050 4GB Intel Core i7-7700HQ 16GB DDR4 1TB 7200RPM HDD RGB Keyboard

$1,150.00
3 new from $1,150.00
3 used from $927.77
Free shipping
Last update was in: 10/19/2017 8:29 am

Asus ROG Strix GL753 FHD IPS 17.3" i7-7700HQ 2.8-3.8GHz (1050/1T HDD/16G RAM)

Free shipping
Last update was in: 10/19/2017 8:29 am

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Design

Asus took the superior design that it used with its premium ROG machines and dumbed it down for its budget models. The result’s a plastic beast that’s more garish than smooth. The lid is fabricated from black plastic with a faux-aluminum pattern, and whereas the premium machines have glowing lights on the edges of the emblem, the company went for an orange neon paint on the top of the Strix, making it appear like a race car bed.

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review asus rog strix gl753 review Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review c5036c3fe8d92aee54d39557a80cd5ba 1

Lifting the lid reveals the 17.3-inch, 1080p display and an island-style keyboard full with number pad. There’s a little bit of neon orange on the plastic chassis, too: the ROG emblem in the bottom right-hand nook and a stripe around the touchpad. There are a few more orange accents on the front-facing speakers under the palm rest.

The edges are lined with ports to connect to external displays and connect peripherals. An Ethernet jack, HDMI, and Mini Display Port outputs are on the left side, together with two USB 3.0 ports, a headphone/microphone jack, and a single USB 3.1 Type-C port. The right side features another USB 3.0 port, a Blu-ray drive, and a USB 2.0 port in addition to a lock slot. An SD card reader is hidden just below the palm rest.

Weighing 6.4 pounds and measuring 16.3 x 10.7 x 1.3 inches, the ROG Strix is mild for a 17-inch gaming laptop. The Alienware 17 R3 is a noticeably heavier 8.3 pounds and measuring 16.9 x 11.5 x 1.3 inches. Unsurprisingly, the MSI GS63VR 6RF Stealth Pro is lighter, weighing at 4.2 pounds and smaller, measuring at 14.9 x 9.8 x 0.7 inches.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Keyboard and TouchPad

The Strix’s keyboard provides an extremely comfy typing experience. Between its deep 2.1 millimeters of the key journey and 60 grams of required actuation force, I by no means came near bottoming out. This is one of Asus’ first laptops with an RGB-backlit keyboard. Out of the box, the entire keys have been red, but with the new Asus ROG Aura Core software, I was able to switch or cycle between hues and divide the keyboard into 4 different zones to offer them each their colors. I would like a bit more customization, like the flexibility to customize each single key’s color. However, it’s good to see one thing apart from red on a ROG finally. The software is restricted to colors, however, so don’t count on to start setting customized macros.

 

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review asus rog strix gl753 review Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review 4a0b0e9bbcf3c38fbfd4bb9c184f0dfd 1

You need to get a gaming mouse because the 4.1 x 2.8-inch touchpad on ROG Strix is a bit finicky. While the cursor is quite accurate and I had no hassle performing gestures like swiping three fingers up to see all of my open applications, I had to be very particular about where I clicked. Notably, I often had to use the very bottom of the trackpad to right-click, because it didn’t always accept that input in more comfy areas.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Display

The Asus ROG Strix boasts a 17.3-inch, matte 1080p display that exhibits off sharp, vivid details. However, it isn’t as shiny as the competitors. I watched the latest trailer for Power Rangers and was in a position to make out each little cube that made up Bryan Cranston’s character Zordon. Elizabeth Banks’ Rita Repulsa costume was a dark, emerald green that popped in opposition to the road throughout a battle with the Rangers. Because of the screen’s 178-degree viewing angles, I might see the trailer even from the far aspect of the laptop.

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review asus rog strix gl753 review Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review 714b00cd42dc9395c3d8cd0246f8b414 1

While I played Batman: Arkham Knight, the red-and-purple neon shops in Gotham City contrasted appropriately towards a cloudy night sky, and I might see the raindrops pelting the Dark Knight’s cape. The viewing angles were still nice. However, it was hard to make out Batman in the dark when I wasn’t looking straight on the screen. Regardless that the screen doesn’t assist Nvidia’s G-Sync, I didn’t have any issues with screen tearing.

The screen on the ROG Strix reproduces a superb 124 % of the sRGB color gamut, although it falls just short of the category average (128 %), and much under the Alienware 17 R3’s (174 %), however, it’s better than the MSI Stealth Pro (111 %).

With its excessive Delta-E rating of 2.2, the Strix’s colors aren’t very exact (0 is good). This mark is worse than the category average (1.5), the MSI Stealth Pro (2) and the Alienware 17 R3’s (0.8).

Our light meter measured the Asus ROG Strix’s average screen brightness at 285 nits, which is below than the 295-nit category average and way dimmer than the Alienware 17’s (319 nits). However, it was brighter than the MSI Stealth Pro (242 nits). Regardless of the rating, I discovered the screen to be bright enough for both gaming and regular use.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Graphics and Gaming

The ROG Strix will play intense video games, because of its Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 Ti GPU with 4GB of VRAM, however, that entry-level GPU can have a little hassle operating intense titles at their highest settings. Whenever you aren’t gaming, the laptop falls back to built-in Intel HD Graphics 630.

When I played Batman: Arkham Knight at 1080p on extreme settings, the ROG Strix ran the game between 40 fps and 55 fps as I used the Batmobile to launch missiles to the unmanned tanks on the roads of Gotham City. I observed that when I drove fast, the frame rate dropped slightly. It was smoother when I switched the entire settings down to normal, and the game stayed between a more steady 47 to 60 fps.

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review asus rog strix gl753 review Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review 05add6aa967df8c028a185a94f300e0a 1

The GPU struggled on our common benchmarks. On Metro: Last Light (high settings, 1080p), the ROG Strix reached simply 28 fps, which is just below our 30-fps playability threshold. The MSI Stealth Pro (GTX 1060) and Alienware 17 R3’s (GTX 980M) both delivered better at 45 fps and 37 fps, respectively.

On Hitman (1080p, Extreme settings), the ROG Strix once more hit 28 fps, falling way short of the 88-fps category average and the MSI Stealth Pro’s 48 fps. On the Rise of the Tomb Raider benchmark at medium settings, the ROG Strix reached 28.9 fps, falling just short of the category average.

Don’t count on to attach an HTC Vive or Oculus Rift to the Asus ROG Strix, because it won’t work. While the Nvidia’s GTX 1050 and 1050 Ti are supposed to provide better efficiency than Nvidia’s previous generation of GPUs, neither is considered to be VR-ready. The laptop earned a rating of 2.4 on the Steam VR benchmark test, rendering those immersive games unplayable. The MSI Stealth Pro hit 7.4 on the same test.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Audio

The audio system on the Strix GL753 is fairly powerful. When I listened to Tegan and Sara’s “Closer,” the sound instantly crammed our small conference room with a blast of synths, vocals, and drums. With the integrated Dolby-powered ICEPower AudioWizard, I switched to the Action preset, which emphasized the percussion and cymbals. However, I assume the default multimedia setting is okay for most people once they’re just watching YouTube videos.

When I played Batman: Arkham Knight, I discovered that the speakers packed a punch when the Batmobile fired missiles at drones and enemies talked via walkie-talkies. However, the background music was quiet. I tried changing to action mode, and it offered a more balanced soundscape.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Heat

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review asus rog strix gl753 review Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review 431b0dec563a43a41b4de47f64b7bcc5 1

The ROG Strix was good and cool throughout our heat testing. After streaming 15 minutes Full-HD video from YouTube, the underside of the laptop measured relatively cool 88 degrees Fahrenheit, the keyboard reached just 83 degrees, and the touchpad hit around 81 degrees — all of them are well under our 95-degree consolation threshold. When I played Batman: Arkham Knight for 15 minutes, the middle of the keyboard hit 91 degrees, while the touchpad reached a cooler 88 degrees, and the underside of the notebook was a bit hot at 105 degrees.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Hardware and Performance

Because of its 2.8-GHz Intel’s Core i7-7700HQ CPU, 16GB RAM, 256GB SSD storage and a 1TB 5,400-rpm HDD, the Asus ROG Strix is primed to multitask. I swapped between Grand Theft Auto V on extreme settings with 25 Google Chrome tabs running in the background without experiencing any signs of lag.

The Strix notched a rating of 13,693 on the Geekbench 3 performance test, falling way short of the category average (17,478) and the Alienware 17 R3’s (with Intel’s Core i7-6820HK, 13,906) but easily surpassing the MSI Stealth Pro (with Core i7-6700HQ, 13,454).

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review asus rog strix gl753 review Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review 9e6a961a3ceb0a79f81875d3da78aa43 1

It took the ROG Strix 23 seconds to copy 4.97GB of mixed-media files, which interprets to a transfer rate of 221.3 MBps. That’s considerably slower than the 560.8-MBps category average, the MSI Stealth Pro (565.5 MBps) and the Alienware 17 R3’s (509 MBps).

Asus ROG Strix paired 20,000 names and addresses in just 3 minutes and 19 seconds on our OpenOffice spreadsheet macro. That’s speedier than the category average (3:34), in addition to the MSI Stealth Pro (3:38) and Alienware 17 R3’s (3:53).

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Battery Life

The ROG Strix will last more on a charge than most desktop replacements. It endured for 5 hours and 25 minutes on the Laptop Mag Battery Test, which includes regular internet surfing over Wi-Fi. That’s an hour longer than the category average (4:23) and much better than the MSI Stealth Pro (2:54). The Alienware 17 R3, perhaps because of its last-gen graphics card, lasted the longest at 6:07.

back to menu ↑

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review – Configuration Options

Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review asus rog strix gl753 review Asus ROG Strix GL753 Review 1be3b8417670a4adaca34f643b39ec3d 1

The Asus ROG Strix GL753 we examined is a $1,299 mannequin that packs a 2.8-GHz Intel’s Core i7-770HQ CPU, 16GB RAM, Nvidia’s GeForce GTX 1050 Ti GPU, 4GB VRAM, a 256GB M.2 SSD, and a 1TB, 5,400-rpm hard drive. For $1,099, you will get a model with a Nvidia’s GTX 1050 GPU instead of the 1050 Ti. That model also ditches the SSD together, leaving you with only the hard-disk drive.

back to menu ↑ back to menu ↑

Conclusion

The Asus ROG Strix GL753 is a reasonably priced gaming laptop with a comfy, RGB-backlit keyboard, bright display and Nvidia’s GTX 1050 Ti GPU. When a laptop comes together with a 1050 or 1050 Ti with a sub-thousand-dollar price range, that will nearly assuredly become a better deal. In any other case, I’m hard-pressed to suggest anything with a GPU that isn’t Pascal-based.

The one exception is if you immediately want a laptop with more configuration options. You’ll be able to still buy a model of the Alienware’s 17 R3 on Amazon, a few of which provide 4K displays. It’s ideal for watching movies. However, you sure won’t be gaming at that resolution with a 980M GPU.

Your best bet right now’s to just accept the ROG Strix for what it is: a powerful budget gaming laptop with a good keyboard and finicky touchpad, that’s out there immediately. However, keep in mind that laptops with this GPU will probably be very aggressive in pricing sooner rather than later.

back to menu ↑

Review Score

7.5 Total Score
What Compsmag Says

The Asus ROG Strix GL753 offers gaming on a budget with a comfortable keyboard and vivid display, but it struggles with intensive gaming at high settings.

Design
8.5
Keyboard and TouchPad
8.5
Display
8.5
Graphics and Gaming
7
Audio
8.5
Heat
8.5
Hardware and Performance
7
Battery Life
7.5
PROS
  • Comfortable, RGB-backlit keyboard
  • Stays cool while gaming;
  • Vivid display
  • Above-average battery life
CONS
  • Not a looker
  • Finicky touchpad
  • Struggles with intense games at high settings
Add your review

-Popular Related Post by Google-


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Add a Comment