How you can Remove Location Data From Your iPhone Photos Before Sharing Them

How you can Remove Location Data From Your iPhone Photos Before Sharing Them

This guide is about How you can Remove Location Data From Your iPhone Photos Before Sharing Them. So read this free guide, How you can Remove Location Data From Your iPhone Photos Before Sharing Them step by step. If you have query related to same article you may contact us.

How you can Remove Location Data From Your iPhone Photos Before Sharing Them – Guide

You can also stop your phone geotag your photos.

Every time you take a photo with iPhone, the exact location where it was taken is saved along with the photo. This feature it’s called geotagging, and it’s useful because your iPhone lets you search photos by location. It’s less useful when you want to share photos without sharing everything about where they were taken.

Fortunately, most social media sites remove location data from photos before they’re uploaded, but it’s good practice to remove them before sharing photos by another method, such as some messaging apps, cloud storage services, and file sharing services (including AirDrop) retain this location data. See how quickly you can remove it.

How to remove location data from your photos before sharing them

Open the Photos app on your iPhone and select the photos you want to share. Click on the sharing icon in the lower left corner, which opens the sharing page on your iPhone.

At the top of the sharing page (in a smaller font below, where it says how many photos you’ve selected to share), tap Options next to Included location. Here, under the Include heading, you can disable the slider for “Local”. If the button next to Location is green, it is enabled. If it’s gray, it’s off. Tap Done to confirm the change and upload the photos.

How to turn off geotagging on all iPhone photos

While it only takes a few seconds to remove location data from photos before sharing them, you can also fill that gap in the source and prevent your iPhone from geo-tagging your photos completely. If you’re not ready for this extreme step, you can also easily interrupt the phone from recording your precise location every time you take a picture.

To completely disable geotagging, go to Settings>Privacy>System Services> Camera on your iPhone and select “Never”.

To stop your iPhone camera to record your exact location when taking a photo, go to the same settings page (Settings > Privacy > System services > Camera) and uncheck “Accurate location”.

A caveat: if you disable geotagging, you won’t be able to search for photos on your device by location; the photo search function will not return results when you enter a city or country name. The advantage is that you don’t have to worry about accidentally exposing your location data. Disabling accurate location tags is probably the best option for most people: it will still allow people to see approximately where the photo was taken, but the radius is large enough to avoid revealing exactly where you took the photo.

From the news lifehacker.com

Final note

I hope you like the guide How you can Remove Location Data From Your iPhone Photos Before Sharing Them. In case if you have any query regards this article you may ask us. Also, please share your love by sharing this article with your friends.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

      Leave a reply

      Compsmag
      Logo