Turn Off Auto-Save on OS Mountain Lion & Mavericks

Check tutorial of Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks

So after a lot of requests from our users here is a guide about Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks.

If you select the Auto-Save feature of OS X, you’ll be happy to find that disabling system-wide on a Mac is as easy as checking a settings box in OS X Mountain Lion and OS X Mavericks. This disables automatic saving behavior for all files in all documents on a Mac.

To clarify, auto-save tracks changes to documents and automatically saves them to the file, avoiding manual saving from the File menu. This can be a great benefit for many Mac users, but others find it frustrating because it overwrites a file or document that is pending or being edited before the changes are ready to write to the file.

Simply disabling the auto-save feature prevents files from being overwritten, but then users have to manually save documents themselves, similar to how older versions of Mac OS X behaved. This setting is actually a matter of personal preference, although many users are used to it and don’t want to turn it off.

Completely disable auto-save in Mac OS X

  1. Open “System Preferences” from the  Apple menu and click the “General” panel
  2. Check the box next to ‘Ask to keep changes when closing documents’
  3. Close System Preferences

The change will take effect immediately, although you’ll want to restart the Mac or sign out and sign back in if you find some apps still working

With autosave turned off, you will be prompted to manually save files every time you try to close a file or document that has been modified, just like previous versions of Mac OS X. This means you will be prompted for file changes when an app whether document is closed, as shown in this screenshot:

Ask to save files instead of using Auto-Save in OS X

The system preference-based approach to enable or disable the setting is much easier to use than disabling the feature in Lion writes commands and the Terminal through defaults, and with the newer approach, disabling this doesn’t disable Versions either (Versions lets you track changes made to files and revert to previous versions).

It’s important to remember how disabling this changes the behavior of OS X from the default automatic save to the user having to manually save documents again. If you’re already used to auto-saving file change behavior, it’s probably best to leave it turned on. If you find that a file has been accidentally overwritten, use Versions or Time Machine to roll back to an earlier version of that file.

Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks Guide is free?

Starting from: Free
This guide is a free model
Free Trial: May be included, please check on the official site, we mentioned above.
The Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks tutorial price is Free or Freemium. This means you can truly enjoy the Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks guide.

The Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks guide gives you an easy-to-use and efficient management and Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks allows you to focus on the most important things. It’s friendly guide to use maybe you will love it and Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks tutorial can be used on Linux, Windows or android devices.

Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks: benefits

  • The Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks tutorial is free .
  • Helps many users follow up with interest in a timely manner.
  • The price of the Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks guide is free.

Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks: FAQ

Tutorial Summary: Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks

In this guide, we told you about Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks; please read all steps so that you understand Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks in case if you need any assistance from us, then contact us.

How this tutorial helping you?

So in this guide, we discuss the Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks, which undoubtedly helps you.

What is actual time in which this method complete?

The time to complete the Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks tutorial is 10+ minutes.

What are the supported Device?

Apple

What are the supported Operating system?

mac OS


Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks Tutorial: final note

For our visitors: If you have any queries regards the Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks, then please ask us through the comment section below or directly contact us.
Education: This guide or tutorial is just for educational purposes.
Misinformation: If you want to correct any misinformation about the guide “Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks”, then kindly contact us.
Want to add an alternate method: If anyone wants to add the more methods to the guide Turn Off Auto-Save in OS X Mountain Lion & Mavericks, then kindly contact us.
Our Contact: Kindly use our contact page regards any help. You may also use our social and accounts by following the Whatsapp, Facebook, and Twitter for your questions. We always love to help you. We answer your questions within 24-48 hours (Weekend off).
Channel: If you want the latest software updates and discussion about any software in your pocket, then here is our Telegram channel.

Compsmag
Logo