Compsmag is supported by its audience. When you buy through links on our website, we may earn an affiliate commission fee. Learn more

Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space on iOS

Check tutorial of Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS

So after a lot of requests from our users here is a guide about Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS.

Photo Stream is undoubtedly a useful part of iCloud for those with multiple iOS devices, but it has a feature that often goes unused, which can waste your precious small iOS device capacity. This love or hate feature is the “My Photo Stream” album, it is enabled by default and is intended to automatically sync your most recent 1000 photos between your iOS devices or to a Mac with iPhoto. Sounds good, right? If you only have a handful of devices and you want those recent photos to be automatically synced between your iPhone, iPad and Mac. In these multi-device situations, you will be smiling like the Apple promo image of the feature because it seamlessly syncs your images back and forth:

But what if you only have one iPhone (or iPad, iPod touch) and treat it like a standard digital one camera camera by manually transferring photos to a computer or automatically backing upup of the pictures up to the cloud with another service such as Dropbox? That’s exactly when the My Photo Stream feature becomes bothersome. This problem with “My Photo Stream” is often overlooked, but instead of simply copying the 1000 most recent photos to iCloud, My Photo Stream actually duplicates those 1000 photos and puts an exact copy of them in their own album on the same device, in the Photos app. Yes, you read that right, if ‘My Photo Stream’ is enabled on your iPhone and you use the iPhone (or iPod or iPad) for photography, you probably have 1000 duplicate images on the device, wasting about 1 GB or more of capacity . Users with the 64 GB iPhone model may not care much, but those with the 16 GB or 32 GB capacity often feel trapped and often try to get out up as much space as possible, which is why this can be good feature Switch off.

First, you probably want to see how much space “My Photo Stream” is taking up on your device by monitoring usage:

  • Open Settings and go to “General”
  • Select “Usage” and choose “Photos”, look for the “My Photo Stream” option

My photo stream is wasting space

If you are using your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch as the primary camera and you haven’t synced photos from another device, don’t be surprised if the size hovers at 1 GB or a little more. Yes, 1 GB of duplicate photos. Let’s get rid of that.

Turn off “My Photo Stream” and delete the photo album with duplicate images

  1. Open Settings and go to ‘Photos and Camera”
  2. Set “My Photo Stream” to OFF
  3. Confirm that you want to turn off My Photo Stream and delete the My Photo Stream album

Turn off Photo Stream and delete

Give it a moment to finish as deleting 1 GB of data will take a second or two. When done, go back to Photos and Albums, and the “My Photo Stream” album will be gone with all the duplicates. You can also check Usage again to confirm that space has been reclaimed.

It’s important to understand what disabling ‘My Photo Stream’ feature is doing:

  • Deletes the album “My Photo Stream” and removes all those duplicate photos from iPhone, iPad or iPod touch
  • Prevents the 1000 most recent images from automatically syncing with other iOS devices or iPhoto on a Mac
  • Prevents direct Finder access to the photo stream using the search type trick

On the other hand, turning off “My Photo Stream” will not affect any other photo stream features, such as the following:

  • You can still use most parts of Photo Streams features, including creating new streams, share and comment on existing photo streams with friends, family and other iOS users
  • You can still use Photo Stream to create public websites with images from your iOS device

Since we want to save the capacity of 1 GB +, turn it off feature is desired. On the other hand, if you like automatic sync feature and using it regularly, you won’t want to do this. Know what you use and know what you do not need, there is no universally suitable institution for this feature, although ideally Apple could improve it a bit to make the duplicate image issue non-existent.

WAIT! Are you a Mac user? If you’ve turned on iCloud with Photo Stream on OS X, and you manually copy your photos to the computer as well, you may also lose tons of disk space to duplicate photos too. Here is how to handle that for OS X and possibly for free up space on your desktop or laptop also, in our written example it was over 18 GB (!) recovered by the feature.

Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS Guide is free?

Starting from: Free
This guide is a free model
Free Trial: May be included, please check on the official site, we mentioned above.
The Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS tutorial price is Free or Freemium. This means you can truly enjoy the Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS guide.

The Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS guide gives you an easy-to-use and efficient management and Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS allows you to focus on the most important things. It’s friendly guide to use maybe you will love it and Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS tutorial can be used on Linux, Windows or android devices.

Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS: benefits

  • The Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS tutorial is free .
  • Helps many users follow up with interest in a timely manner.
  • The price of the Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS guide is free.

Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS: FAQ

Tutorial Summary: Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS

In this guide, we told you about Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS; please read all steps so that you understand Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS in case if you need any assistance from us, then contact us.

How this tutorial helping you?

So in this guide, we discuss the Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS, which undoubtedly helps you.

What is actual time in which this method complete?

The time to complete the Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS tutorial is 10+ minutes.

What are the supported Device?

Apple

What are the supported Operating system?

mac OS


Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS Tutorial: final note

For our visitors: If you have any queries regards the Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS, then please ask us through the comment section below or directly contact us.
Education: This guide or tutorial is just for educational purposes.
Misinformation: If you want to correct any misinformation about the guide “Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS”, then kindly contact us.
Want to add an alternate method: If anyone wants to add the more methods to the guide Turn Off “My Photo Stream” to Free Up 1GB+ of Space in iOS, then kindly contact us.
Our Contact: Kindly use our contact page regards any help. You may also use our social and accounts by following the Whatsapp, Facebook, and Twitter for your questions. We always love to help you. We answer your questions within 24-48 hours (Weekend off).
Channel: If you want the latest software updates and discussion about any software in your pocket, then here is our Telegram channel.

Compsmag