MIUI 12 to be unveiled for Xiaomi phones on May 19

While Xiaomi phones run Android like most other smartphones, they’ve put the company’s own MIUI over the top for appearance and navigation changes. At the moment, MIUI 11 is the latest version available, but MIUI 12 has been expected for some time – and Xiaomi has just confirmed when we’ll see it.

Xiaomi has sent out invitations for an MIUI 12 launch event on 19 May. This will be a digital event that takes place at 14:00 CET (13:00 BST, 8:00 ET, 5:00 PT) and will be shown on YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook.

MIUI 12 is expected to bring a renewed dark mode, newer backgrounds, a revised settings menu (making all your phone data easier to understand), improved gesture controls, and a few other adjustments and changes. It is based on Android 10, as MIUI 11 was, but will also benefit from the changes that will come with it.

MIUI 12 was unveiled in China earlier in 2020, and phones in that region are expected to be upgraded first, but the existence of this global event suggests that a rollout to other regions is imminent. It looks like MIUI 12 will roll out to some phones in China from June. It is likely that the first phones to receive the update will be the newest, including the Xiaomi Mi 10 and Mi 10 Pro, as well as some of the newer Redmi phones.

After that, the update is likely to reach the top 2019 Xiaomi phones such as the Mi 9 and Mi Note 10, as well as other Redmi phones. Phones in other regions will probably see the same release pattern, but later than China, perhaps from July. However, it is worth pointing out that there are some Xiaomi phones, especially of the brand Redmi, available in some regions, but not in others, so the release pattern will not be exact between regions.

MIUI 12 has been expected from Xiaomi users for some time now, so if you have a Mi, Redmi, or Poco phone, this is probably great news for you. You can find out everything about the upgrade that will be on your phone on May 19th at the event.

Compsmag