News » Technology News » “Radiology Revolutionaries: Meet the RLI Leadership Luminaries Paving the Way for Innovation”

“Radiology Revolutionaries: Meet the RLI Leadership Luminaries Paving the Way for Innovation”

by Tech Desk
2 minutes read
“Radiology Revolutionaries: Meet the RLI Leadership Luminaries Paving the Way for Innovation”

The Radiology Leadership Institute (RLI) has recently announced the winners of the 2023 Leadership Luminary Award, which recognizes outstanding lifetime achievement, innovation, leadership, and service to the medical specialties of radiology or radiation oncology. Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., MD, MHS, FACR, Earl Van Moore Jr., MD, FACR and Lawrence R. Muroff, MD, FACR were named as this year’s recipients during the American College of Radiology (ACR) Annual Meeting held on May 6-10 in Washington DC.

According to Frank J. Lexa, MD, MBA – Medical Director and Vice President of ACR Radiology Leadership Institute – “Throughout their professional careers, Drs. Beauchamp, Moore and Muroff have demonstrated the highest level of leadership bringing great distinction and honor to the field of radiology.” He further added that these extraordinary leaders have benefited radiology greatly through their remarkable achievements.

Norman J. Beauchamp Jr., MD is currently serving as Executive Vice President of Health Sciences at Michigan State University where he obtained his medical degree. He was previously chair of the department of radiology and a professor at Washington University where he also served as president of a clinical practice consisting of 1,600 UW-employed physicians. His research is focused on developing advanced MRI techniques to broaden the treatment window for acute ischemic stroke.

Earl Van Moore Jr., MD is President and CEO of Strategic Radiology and former president and president of Charlotte Radiology. He received the ACR Gold Medal in 2011 for his contributions to radiology.

Lawrence R. Muroff is a former CEO and immediate past president emeritus at Educational Symposia Inc., a courtesy clinical professor at both University Of Florida And The University Of South Florida Colleges Of Medicineand For 44 years held important leadership positions with radiological societies including ACR. He received the ACR Gold Medal in 2013.

Apart from the Leadership Luminary Award, RLI also announced the recipients of the Impact in Leadership Award and Emerging Leader Scholarship during the ACR Annual Meeting. The Leadership Impact Award recognizes individuals whose participation in an RLI course or program was integral to the successful completion of specific projects or initiatives at their practice or institution. Meanwhile, the Emerging Leaders Scholarship recognizes residents or fellows who have made a significant contribution to their institutions and/or the field of radiology, while exhibiting potential to be future leaders in the field.

The winners of this year’s Leadership Impact Awards are Ian A. Weissman, DO, FACR from Milwaukee VA Medical Center and Syed F. Zaidi, MD, MBA, FACR from Radiology Partners Canton Ohio. On the other hand, Rachel Grenier from Massachusetts General Hospital Interventional Radiology Integrated Program; Gerald Hefferman from Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Harvard Medical School; Russell A. Reeves from Thomas Jefferson University Hospital; Rebecca Scalabrino from Rutgers Robert Wood Johnson Medical School; Michelle Shnayder-Adams from University of Michigan Interventional Radiology Integrated Program; Andrew Sill from Mayo Clinic Arizona School of Medicine; Elliot Varney from University Of Mississippi Medical Center and Ufara Zuwasti MD MSc Newark Beth Israel Physician were named as this year’s Emerging Leaders Scholarship recipients.

William T Thorwarth Jr., MD – Executive Director of American College of Radiology – stated that “The RLI provides leadership training that can benefit radiologists at all professional levels.” The award recipients will be recognized during RLI Summit on September 29–Oct 1 in Boston.

Radiology has come a long way since its inception many years ago thanks to dedicated professionals like Drs. Beauchamp, Moore and Muroff who have contributed greatly to its advancement through their remarkable achievements. Their lifetime of service and leadership will continue to inspire future radiology professionals to follow in their footsteps.


You may also like

compsmag logo

CompsMag: Unraveling the Tech Universe – Delve into the world of technology with CompsMag, where we demystify the latest gadgets, unravel software secrets, and shine a light on groundbreaking innovations. Our team of tech aficionados offers fresh perspectives, empowering you to make informed decisions in your digital journey. Trust CompsMag to be your compass in the ever-expanding tech cosmos

Useful Links

Connect with us

Comspmag is part of Tofido ltd. an international media group and leading digital publisher. 

Edtior's Picks

Latest News

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More