Last price update was: July 30, 2021 3:06 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review

Product is rated as #269 in category Reviews
8

$135.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Last updated on July 30, 2021 3:06 pm
Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review
Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review

Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review Prices

$135.99
July 30, 2021 3:06 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
5 new from $135.99

Price History

Price history for Creative 70SB181000000 Sound Blaster X3 Digital Audio Converter - Black
Latest updates:
  • $135.99 - July 20, 2021
  • $144.90 - July 17, 2021
  • $135.99 - July 13, 2021
Since: July 13, 2021
  • Highest Price: $144.90 - July 17, 2021
  • Lowest Price: $135.99 - July 13, 2021

Description

This review is about Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review. So read this review Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review with full details and specs.

The Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review

Sound Blaster X4 vs X3 Specification Creative Sound Blaster X4 Hi-Res 24bit/192kHz External USB… Creative Sound Blaster X4 Hi-Res 24bit/192kHz External USB…

7.1 DISCRETE SURROUND WITH SUPER X-FI AND DOLBY… IMPROVED COMMUNICATION WITH SMARTCOMMS KIT AND… CONNECT TO EVERYTHING – With a newly added… EASY ACCESS TO ALL CONTROLS – Choose between three…

£134.99 Buy on Amazon Sound Blaster X4 Sound Blaster X3 Dynamic Range (DNR) 114 dB 115 dB Technology Sound Blaster Acoustic Engine, Super X-Fi CrystalVoice, Scout Mode Sound Blaster Acoustic Engine, Super X-Fi CrystalVoice, Scout- Music Playback mode Resolution (Optical Out): PCM 16/24-bit / 48.0, 96.0, 192.0 kHz Dolby Digital Live: 16-bit, 48.0 kHz Playback Resolution (Stereo): PCM 16/24-bit / 48.0, 96.0, 192.0 kHz Surround 7.1 : PCM 16/24-bit / 48.0, 96.0 kHz Playback Resolution (Stereo): PCM 16/24/32-bit / 48.0, 96.0, 192.0 kHz Playback Resolution (Optical Out): PCM 16/24-bit / 48.0, 96.0 , 192.0 kHz Surround 7.1: PCM 16/24/32-bit / 48.0, 96.0, 192.0 kHz Dolby Digital Live : 16-bit, 48.0 kHz Recording resolution Mic-in: 16 / 24-bit / 48.0, 96.0 kHz Line-in : 16 / 24-bit / 48.0, 96.0 kHz Optical input: 16 / 24-bit / 48.0, 96.0 kHz Microphone input: 16/24-bit / 48.0, 96.0, 192.0 kHz Line input: 16/24-bit, 48.0, 96.0, 192 .0 kHz What you hear: 16/24-bit, 48.0, 96.0, 192.0 kHz Connectivity Opt ies (mo in) 1 x TOSLINK Optical Out 1 x ⅛″ Rear Out 1 x ⅛″ Center / Sub Out 1 x 1/8″ Headphone / Headset Jack 1 x 1/8″ Ext. Mic-in jack 1 x ⅛″ Front out 1 x ⅛″ Side Out jack 1 x USB-C port for PC / Mac 1 x ⅛″ Optical / Line-in combo jack 1 x TOSLINK Optical Out 1 x ⅛″ Rear Out 1 x ⅛″ Center / Sub Out 1 x 1/8″ Headphone / Headset Jack 1 x 1/8″ Ext. Mic-in jack 1 x out Front-out 1 x ⅛″ Side-out jack 1 x USB-C port for PC / Mac 1 x in Line-in jack Headphone amplifier Supported headphone impedance: 32–600Ω High Gain: 150–600Ω (2.3V RMS at 150Ω, 2.9V RMS at 600Ω) Output Impedance: 10Ω Low Gain: 32–149Ω (1.2V RMS at 32Ω) Supported Headphone Impedance: 32–600Ω High Gain: 150–600Ω (2, 3V RMS at 150Ω) , 2.9V RMS at 600Ω) Low Gain: 32–149Ω (1.2V RMS at 32Ω, 1.5V RMS at 150Ω) DAC Dynamic Range (stereo): 114 dB, THD+N (stereo) : 0.001% Dynamic Range (Stereo) : 115 dB, THD+N (Stereo): 0.0004% ADC Dynamic Range: 104 dB, THD+N: 0.0017% Dynamic Range: 104 dB, THD+N: 0, 0017% Software Creative App with Smartcomms Kit Sound Blaster Command for Windows

From my limited research, dropping the 32-bit support doesn’t make any difference. 24-bit is already beyond what we can hear, nor will there be any advantage in 192.0 kHz versus 96.0 kHz for the recording resolution. Set up up & App

The Creative Sound Blaster X4 uses the Creative App instead of the Creative Sound Blaster Command of the X3. This seems to be their main app going forward, and all my recent reviews have used it.

Ideally, you want to use the USB connection to your PC

Both the X3 and X4 work with PC, PS4, PS5 and Switch. For the PlayStation consoles you have to use the optical output. In use

I mainly use speakers for my everyday use, especially if I just listen to music while I work. I’ll switch to a headset for gaming that involves chatting and of course the inevitable zoom calls.

For speakers I currently use the Edifier R2000DB, and I’ve also used them with the Mitchell Acoustics uStream One. For my headset I use the EPOS Sennheiser GSP 601.

It has outputs for 5.1, which is quite rare for an external sound card/DAC. I think only Creative has this functionality, with this the X3 and the X7. I don’t have a 5.1 active speaker setup in my office, so I haven’t been able to test this.

With my multi-monitor setup I will occasionally watch TV/movies on the Nvidia shield, so I need multiple inputs.

So this product generally works well for me.

I’m a big fan of volume knobs, which make it easy to control your volume, and this is one of the reasons I returned the Sound BlasterX G6 in favor of my FiiO K5 Pro, because of the large knob. Like the X3, this one has a nice big, easily accessible volume rocker that you can press to mute. Again, when used via USB, this integrates with the system volume.

As much as I like the app-free experience of the FIIO, the Creative App offers better control over how things sound. I can get around the software processing all together or tweak things to my liking with the acoustic engine.

This also has several gaming tweaks such as sound profiles for specific games and scout mode, which tries to enhance ambient sounds of footsteps and the like. It seems to help a bit, but I’m not a good gamer to make any difference to my performance.

Overall, the sound quality is excellent. It’s superior to my MSI MEG motherboard’s built-in audio, and I’d say its performance is comparable to FIIO I’ve used for the past few months. I also prefer the Creative Sound Blaster Z SE, although I mostly prefer the convenience of an external DAC versus an internal sound card. SXFIA

One of the unique features of this DAC/sound card is the Super X-FI.

This requires an additional app to be installed on your mobile, which is necessary because you have to use the camera on your phone for mapping the head.

There is also a Windows app available in the Windows Store. The Windows app doesn’t allow social logins, so I had to reset my password instead of using my Google account to log in. Although I don’t think the Windows app does anything useful because you already have everything on your phone.

The whole process is very complicated.

Wrap up Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review

So this is the review about the Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review for 2021. I hope you love this review of Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review features, price, benefits, pros, and cons too. If you like this review Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review then please rate this product below. Check out more reviews here.

Additional information

Specification: Creative Sound Blaster X4 Review

Part Number

70SB181000000

Model

70SB181000000

Warranty

Limited warranty

Color

Release Date

2020-05-20T00:00:01Z

Compsmag
Logo