Last price update was: July 29, 2021 11:35 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Review on Starling Home Hub

Product is rated as #5 in category Reviews
9

$39.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Last updated on July 29, 2021 11:35 pm

Review on Starling Home Hub Prices

$39.99
July 29, 2021 11:35 pm
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
1 new from $39.99

Price History

Price history for Echo Dot (3rd Gen) - Smart speaker with Alexa - Charcoal
Latest updates:
  • $39.99 - July 19, 2021
  • $34.99 - June 16, 2021
Since: June 16, 2021
  • Highest Price: $39.99 - July 19, 2021
  • Lowest Price: $34.99 - June 16, 2021

Description

This review is about Review on Starling Home Hub. So read this review Review on Starling Home Hub with full details and specs.

The Review on Starling Home Hub

Our Verdict

the starling Home Hub connects HomeKit and Nest devices simply and easily. In front of

Pairs Nest and HomeKit Works well

Against

Requires web interface, no app No WiFi

One of the biggest problems with Apple’s HomeKit smart home platform is that it just doesn’t support as many devices as Alexa and Google Home. the starling Home Hub aims to bridge that gap by literally building a bridge between Nest products and HomeKit. This $89 device doesn’t really do anything other than that, but it does what it’s supposed to do.

Read the rest of this Starling Home Hub review to find out what it can and can’t handle around the house – and why it’s one of the best smart ones home hubs for a very specific purpose.

Starling Home Hub review: design and configuration

The Starling Hub is basically a plug-and-play version of the homebridge nest project for those who don’t want to bother with up a home server and editing configuration files.

It’s a small white cube, about 2 inches on each side, with an Ethernet port, a microUSB port for power, and a microSD card slot. The Starling comes with an Ethernet cable and a power cord.

To get started, connect the Starling Hub to your router and then to a power outlet. Then go to setup.starlinghome.io to set everything up up. In an era where apps are ubiquitous, this approach felt a little dated — a bit like the original Hubitat Elevation interface — but then there’s very little the Starling Hub has to do other than connect two accounts.

After entering my Google credentials (it works even if you’re still using a Nest account), I opened the HomeKit app and scanned the QR code on the back of the hub. Apple’s app warns “This accessory is not certified for HomeKit and may not work reliably or securely with this iOS device.” It could be, but I want my Nest Protect to work with HomeKit. Starling Home Hub Review: Compatibility

The Starling hub can connect to most, but not all Nest products. It will pair with the Nest Learning Thermostat and Nest Thermostat, Nest-cameras (both indoor and outdoor models, as well as the Dropcam), the Nest Protect, the Nest Secure security system, and the Nest X Yale smart lock. However, it won’t work with the Nest Hub or any other smart speaker or display. Starling Home Hub: Performance

Almost immediately, HomeKit recognized my Nest Protect as both a smoke detector and a carbon monoxide detector (which it is). It even informed me that the Protect’s battery was low.

From there, I was able to create automations using the Nest devices, such as having a HomePod mini play a sound when it detects smoke.

Then I installed a Nest installed camera, first by setting it up in the Nest app. Within a few minutes I was able to view it in the Home app. Like any other HomeKit compatible camera, I could press the thumbnail to see a live view, and also talk through the camera’s speaker. There was little to no lag with both audio and video.

HomeKit also allowed me to create automations with the Nest cam and use motion or sound as a trigger.

The only thing you can’t do through the HomeKit app is start recording or watch recorded videos; you need to use the Nest app for that. Starling Home Hub: Verdict

the starling Home Hub is a small, simple smart home hub with only one purpose: to connect Nest products to HomeKit. And that works pretty well. It took five minutes to install and my Nest products showed up in the apple Home app where I could control them like most other HomeKit-approved devices. Until Apple and Google decide to work together, the Starling Home Hub is the best way to do it yourself.

The Verdict about Review on Starling Home Hub

So this is the review about the Review on Starling Home Hub for 2021. I hope you love this review of Review on Starling Home Hub features, price, benefits, pros, and cons too. If you like this review Review on Starling Home Hub then please rate this product below. Check out more reviews here.

Additional information

Specification: Review on Starling Home Hub

Part Number

53-014882

Model

C78MP8

Color

Is Adult Product
Release Date

2018-10-11T00:00:01Z

Size (EA)

Compsmag
Logo