Last price update was: July 30, 2021 3:24 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.

Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System

Product is rated as #311 in category Reviews
8

$639.99

Best deal at: amazon.comAmazon.com
Buy for best price
Last updated on July 30, 2021 3:24 am
Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System
Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System

Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System Prices

$639.99
July 30, 2021 3:24 am
× Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com (Amazon.in, Amazon.co.uk, Amazon.de, etc) at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
7 new from $639.99
2 used from $549.99

Price History

Price history for VIZIO SB46514-F6 46-Inch 5.1.4 Premium Home Theater Sound System with Dolby Atmos and Wireless Subwoofer plus Rear Surround Speakers
Latest updates:
  • $639.99 - July 30, 2021
  • $641.24 - July 26, 2021
  • $650.17 - July 24, 2021
  • $479.99 - July 22, 2021
  • $599.00 - July 20, 2021
  • $598.00 - June 24, 2021
  • $599.99 - June 22, 2021
  • $701.15 - June 18, 2021
Since: January 30, 2021
  • Highest Price: $886.94 - March 2, 2021
  • Lowest Price: $479.99 - July 22, 2021

Description

This review is about Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System. So read this review Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System with full details and specs.

The Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System

For years I have said that there is very little reason to spend a lot of money on a TV. Most screens are so good and so cheap that you don’t have to spend more than $1,000 to have an excellent viewing experience.

Vizio’s latest $500 Dolby Atmos soundbar system does the same with surround sound. The M-Series 5.1.2 does everything I want, from rumbling in my seat from John Wick’s gunshots to engines whooshing behind my head during Formula 1 races, but it costs much less than most of its competitors.

If you’ve dreamed of a theater-like experience at home, but you are nervous about the space needed up and the holiday fund goes bankrupt, then this is an excellent solution. Unless you spend nights and weekends browsing the r/hometheater subreddit or buying 4K Blu-ray discs, this $500 system is probably all you need. Atmos is not plentiful

Don’t get me wrong, I love Dolby’s immersive object-based audio technology as much as the next audio geek. But finding shows mixed in Atmos or DTS:X is harder than you might think. With the exception of in-house produced shows on Netflix and Amazon Prime, very little content is mixed using the height channels available to stream on most Atmos systems, which expand the listening plane from horizontal to vertical for sound effects such as rain or wind.

Instead, most surround sound is delivered in 5.1 format, which is why a compact Atmos 5.1.2 setup is ideal for the vast majority of us. The main bar has the traditional center, right and left channels, but Vizio packed a few: up- speakers go off when Atmos content is played. Because the height channels come from the front, the trailing edges can be lighter and smaller, making them easier to install. I really like this hybridized setup. You can hear Atmos content when it’s available, but it’s not the centerpiece of the setup’s design.

Speaking of centerpieces, there’s a reason I haven’t mentioned aesthetics yet. The bar is a black fabric-wrapped rectangle that fits perfectly under Vizio’s new 55-inch M-Series model (shocking!), and the rear edges are equally unobtrusive. The only special design element is that they sit on their sides, hot dog style, on the rear speaker stands.

The connected subwoofer is a small cube that you can place anywhere, but I found it most effective next to my mail order couch. It acts as a hub for the rear speakers, which get their signal from the woofer through a pair of proprietary audio cables. The thin black cables won’t be long enough for the largest living rooms, but they worked fine in my medium-sized test room, and I like that they’re thin enough to fit under carpets. You don’t have to spend a lot of time finding an easy way to hide them if you hate cables. Remote task

The top of the bar has five raised buttons which allows you to turn the thing on, change inputs, pair with Bluetooth and adjust the volume. It has two HDMI inputs, but only one eARC port to connect to your TV.

I would normally start talking about this how to set up the remote control or adjust it. But if I’m honest, I never touched the thing. The eARC connection allowed me to use the TV remote to adjust the volume and mute the bar, otherwise I just used the bar buttons. I didn’t even unpack the remote. It is still in the box, without batteries. Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar

Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar

Rating: 9/10 $500 at Amazon $500 at Best Buy

If you buy something through links in our stories, we can earn a commission. With this we support our journalism. Learn more. Also consider subscribing to WIRED ad

The overall balance and arrangement worked very well in my 400 square foot room. The smaller subwoofer was a perfect match and the surround speakers were balanced. My friends and I are all recent Formula 1 converts, thanks to Netflix’s Drive to Survive. While watching the Monaco Grand Prix, they noticed how great the cars sounded as they zoomed behind their heads, but it took them a while to realize it was happening. For me, that’s the perfect level of immersion.

There is a clear separation between voices, sound effects and background music that you really only get with rear speakers. While many other soundbar makers are moving to all-in-one Atmos setups that bounce surround sound off your walls and ceiling, physical drivers always sound better in my experience. That is absolutely the case here. The rear channels really center you in any mix from the back, rather than sounding like an afterthought.

The sound is heavier in the midrange than you’ll find on more expensive options from Vizio like its flagship Elevate soundbar, but at this price it’s not shocking that the drivers aren’t quite as high-quality. You still hear a lot of detail and the smaller subwoofer balances really well in the mix. Rather than going for muddy (but more rowdy) tuning, you can see that Vizio’s engineers have worked really hard to make it sound as clean as possible across the audio spectrum. This mystical processing wizardry works quite well.

Whether you’re someone who’s finally convinced to just buy a soundbar already, or you’re looking for an audio partner for your new TV, the M-Series soundbar is a great option. I recently reviewed (and liked!) the Polk React but I prefer the sound of the M-Series bar for both clarity and immersion.

It’s cheap relative to its features, super easy to use and from a brand that has been making some of the best (and most reliable) soundbars for years. Starting from unpacking to watching Andy Samberg slammed into the side of a ramp in Hot Rod took less than 15 minutes. If I was setting up a home theater in an apartment, medium sized living room or games room, this would be top of my list.

Wrap up Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System

So this is the review about the Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System for 2021. I hope you love this review of Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System features, price, benefits, pros, and cons too. If you like this review Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System then please rate this product below. Check out more reviews here.

Additional information

Specification: Review on Vizio M-Series 5.1.2 Soundbar System

Part Number

SB46514-F6

Model

SB46514-F6

Warranty (year)

1

Color

Release Date

2018-10-01T00:00:01Z

Compsmag
Logo