Compsmag is supported by its audience. When you buy through links on our website, we may earn an affiliate commission fee. Learn more

What to do when Time Machine backup is full

Time Machine is a good way to maintain a backup of your Mac, it is also a straightforward method to transfer all of your data and software program to 1 other Mac, however, as your Mac’s content material will increase you can find that your Time Machine can’t full the backup due to lack of space.

Here we are going to clarify what to do in case your Time Machine backup failed as a result of there is not sufficient space in your exhausting drive. Find out what to do when your Time Machine backup is full, together with which Time Machine backups you’ll be able to delete and how to cut back the scale of your Time Machine backup.

If you need more info on how to use Time Machine, right here we’ve got a whole guide to Time Machine.

What to do in case your Time Machine backup has failed

Occasionally, you might even see the next message when Time Machine tries to again up your Mac:

Time Machine was unable to full the backup
This backup is too massive for the backup disk
Backup requires X GB, however, solely Y GB is accessible

If you see that message, you’ll be able to assume that you just want a new exhausting drive to make backups, however, you do not have to. It is potential to delete older backups out of your Time Machine backup and it is potential to change the data you’re backing up in order that it doesn’t require as a lot space.

Before you begin, ensure you haven’t copied some other info to the backup drive which you can do without. Especially if it is an additional backup of your photo library, which is nonetheless backed up by Time Machine. If there is files on the backup disk that is additionally in your Time Machine backup, you do not want to duplicate it.

Another factor to check is if there is more than 1 Mac utilizing the disk as a backup disk, for instance, in case your Mac is backing up to a shared NAS disk (network-attached storage).

How to delete outdated Time Machine backups

Time Machine ought to mechanically delete the oldest backups when your disk fills up, however, there could also be circumstances when you want to delete outdated backups your self, equivalent to when you strive to again up a number of info (as a result of you did not have time Machine backed up for some time, for instance).

Even if Time Machine mechanically deletes older backups, your backup disk will fill up because the variety of data in your Mac will increase.

If you are working out of space and haven’t got a new storage gadget readily available to begin a new backup, deleting some data from the backup is the place to begin.

  1. Connect the drive to your Mac.
  2. The disk ought to be mounted in your desktop.
  3. Click on the disc and think about the content material within the Finder.
  4. Click the Backups.backups folder.
  5. Browse the totally different folders that seem in date order, the oldest first.
  6. Find a folder you need to delete – you would most likely delete 1 of many older folders, in spite of everything, you are unlikely to want Time Machine to go that far again.
  7. Right-click on it or maintain Control and select Move to Trash.
  8. You will see a warning that “You can’t undo this motion. Do you need to transfer the backup to the trash anyway? ‘
  9. Click Continue.
  10. Enter your password if prompted.
  11. To be certain that it is faraway from the exhausting drive, go to the trash and proper click on and select delete instantly.
  12. Confirm that you really want to delete and enter your password once more.
    You may even see a couple of warnings that you just can’t delete 1 thing as a result of it is in use. Just click on skip and proceed with the removing.

You may also delete a backup by following these directions:

  1. Click in your backup disk in order that the content material will open within the Finder.
  2. Now click on on the Time Machine icon within the menu bar.
  3. Click Enter Time Machine.
  4. Click on the backup you need to delete.
  5. Click the gear icon and click on Delete all backups from “folder name”.
  6. You may even see the warning. If you’re positive you need to completely delete all backups of the chosen merchandise, click on OK.
  7. Enter the administrator password if crucial.

Delete a big file from a backup

Deleting a whole backup can prevent some space, however, what in case you want to again up a specific file or folder unnecessarily? Here’s how you take away that:

  1. Open the Finder and find the merchandise you need to take away from the backup, for instance, a film download or a folder of photos that you do not want to again up.
  2. Click the Time Machine icon within the menu bar.
  3. Click Enter Time Machine.
  4. Navigate to the time you need to delete.
  5. Click on the gear icon and select ‘Delete Backup’.
  6. Enter the administrator password if crucial.

How to exclude issues from the backup

If you need to maintain your backups on the small facet, it is potential to inform Time Machine what to again up and what to ignore.

Follow these steps to exclude gadgets out of your backup:

  1. Click on the Time Machine icon in your menu.
  2. Click Open Time Machine Preferences (you can too entry Time Machine from System Preferences).
  3. Click on Options.
  4. You will see a window with the gadgets already excluded from the backup.
  5. Click the + and navigate to the file or folder you need to go away out of the backup.

Tips to maintain your backup small

If you are fighting the scale of your backup, listed below are some suggestions.

  • If you may have a big music library, do not again it up, however, signal up for iTunes Match. It is then backed up to Apple’s iCloud, and you may entry it from any account.
  • If you may have a big photo library, signal up for iCloud Photo Library to again up the images in your Mac to the cloud. You simply want to ensure you have sufficient space in iCloud, which might imply a month-to-month subscription payment. We have full particulars on how a lot iCloud cupboard space prices right here.
  • If you use virtualization software program, equivalent to Parallels or VMware, you could have massive disk photos associated to 1 other working system in your Mac. Time Machine could again up all the disk picture even in case you solely created a couple of data within the different working system. Tell Time Machine to exclude these data from the backup.
  • Are you backing up a big e mail folder? For instance, in case you use Outlook, the e-mail database may be very massive and Time Machine can help the entire thing. For instance, in case you sync Gmail, you may have a backup on the Internet, so you do not want to duplicate it right here.
Compsmag