This tip is about the how to disable Apple family sharing or remove a family member. So read this free guide, How to disable Apple family sharing or remove a family member step by step. If you have query related to same article you may contact us.
How to disable Apple family sharing or remove a family member – Guide
The Family Sharing feature it is useful, however, there are situations where you might need to disable it or remove members.
The Family Sharing feature on Apple devices can be great for families, but giving kids access to shared content and shopping isn’t always a good idea. Fortunately, you can disable the feature or remove specific members of his family.
Generally speaking, the feature allows users to share access to Apple devices and purchases with others, usually family members. This includes permissions to view a shared photo album and access data stored on the iCloud server. Equally helpful for families is the fact that Family Sharing allows parents and children to share their location with other members.
For family organizers or Family Sharing administrators feature, removing members only takes a few button presses. However, things get more difficult if you want to remove a member under 13 years old.
What happens when you exclude someone or yourself from Family Sharing?
Remember that removing yourself or another member of the family group will have immediate consequences. Removed members will be deprived of all access to shared Apple devices and subscriptions, including iCloud storage plans, paid apps and media purchased by other users.
If you were using apps purchased by the member you removed from the family group, you will have to purchase them in person to continue using them. In case you have made in-app purchases, they will only be available to you after purchasing the in-app using your Apple account.
When it comes to DRM protected media, once the user is removed from the group, the files will remain on all devices that have had access to them. However, you will not be able to open them and view the content unless you buy the media in person.
If the removed member was using Apple Cash Family and had a balance, all funds will be transferred to the group organizer.
How to disable Home Sharing feature?
Before proceeding, remember that only family group organizers can dissolve the group and disable the feature. That said, the dissolution of the group will immediately remove all members and each user will only have access to the apps, subscriptions and media files they paid for. Here it is how to Knife:
Using an iPad or iPhone
You can also use a Mac to dissolve the group:
If the group contains the account of a child under the age of 13, you will have to move it to another family group before dissolving the current one.
How to remove yourself or a family member from Family Sharing?
You can also remove specific members, including yourself, without disabling the general functionality of the feature.
As before, you can do this using an iPhone or a Mac.
For iPhone and iPad:
The same process applies to removing other people from the group. However, instead of choosing their name, you will have to select their name. If you are unable to remove a specific member, it may be subject to age restrictions imposed by Apple’s user policy.
Please note that this age restriction may vary from country to country. In the US, Apple will prevent you from removing members under 13 years of age.
Remove a user aged 13 or under
Although you cannot remove age-restricted members from family groups, there are ways around this limitation. In the United States, you will have to move the member to another family group or delete the Apple account altogether.
Transferring Account to Another Family Sharing Group
The transfer process is relatively simple, however it can only be initiated by the Family Organizer or the group to which the child will be transferred. The organizer will have to invite the age-restricted member to the group. Once this happens, you will receive a notification informing you of a family transfer request. Select Transfer and you’re done.
For iPhones and iPads, the confirmation menu is located under Settings under Family Transfer Request.
If you want to use a Mac, go to System Preferences, select your Apple ID, and click View Transfer Requests. You will now be able to select Accept to complete the transfer.
Deleting an Apple Account
The last method is to delete the age-restricted account. This process is a little more complex and you should only do this if you are sure you will not need the paid data or apps associated with that account. Once deleted, it disappears forever.
To delete an age-restricted account, you will need to do the following:
You will be taken to a page that will allow you to delete the account. You will need to select a reason for account deletion and read the Terms and Conditions for Deletion. After doing this, you will be presented with a code that allows you to delete the account or recover it if you change your mind.
After printing or annotating it, you will have to enter it in a field to authorize deletion. Finally, press Delete Account.
Dissolution of the Family Sharing group
The Family Sharing feature it’s great for anyone who wants to share media content, apps and subscriptions. However, having the option of leaving the group, removing members from it, or dissolving it entirely is always helpful.
I hope you like the guide How to disable Apple family sharing or remove a family member. In case if you have any query regards this article you may ask us. Also, please share your love by sharing this article with your friends.